Moms4Change

Moms bringing awareness & missions outreach to the needs of women & children locally & globally, with some fun mixed in!

Idol Gives Change… April 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — daniellebrower @ 8:51 am

Have you ever played the High/Low Game at dinner? Each family member shares what their best “high” point of the day was, as well as their worst “low” point, while enjoying the delicious pot roast you whipped up (or scarfing down McDonald’s in the car on the way to soccer practice). It’s a great way to bring the family together after a long day apart. And some of the answers might surprise you!

Yesterday I shared my Low Point of Idol Gives Back which aired on Wednesday evening. I told you the shock I received when I realized my little boy was watching a scantily clad Fergie shakin’ what her momma gave her and then some. I want my boys to grow up seeing women as beautiful, priceless, worthy of respect, not objects to obtain for their own entertainment. This incident just reminded me that I need to continue to guard their hearts by more closely guarding what their eyes see.

Now that I’ve gotten over the shock, I’d like to share with you my High Point of Idol Gives Back.

High Point: Carrie Underwood performing “Change”

Here are a few of the lyrics, but please watch the video. The entire song & Carrie’s performance are truly moving.

~~~~~

Don’t listen to them when they say

You’re just a fool

Just a fool

To believe you can change the world

Oh the smallest thing can make all the difference

Love is alive

Don’t listen to ’em when they say

You’re just a fool

Just a fool

To believe you can change the world

~~~~~

I hope that this encourages you as well, to keep believing, keep working, keep striving to make a difference in your realm of influence. But also I hope you’re willing to look foolish for the sake of embracing people who seem unlovable & forgotten by the world’s standards. Jesus did just that. For the sake of the unlovable & forgotten (you & me), He looked foolish and became like us, even sacrificing His very life for ours. We’re in good company. Now, who you calling foolish?

Keep Lovin’ Moms!

P.S. Thanks American Idol for raising millions of dollars to make a difference in the world. Next year though, I think we can all do without the booty-shakin! 🙂

 

One Response to “Idol Gives Change…”

  1. Deborah Says:

    Thanks for sharing Danielle You have changed my world and I am so grateful


Leave a comment